Pedro Ximénez Abrill Tirado, Cuartetos Concertantes View larger

Cuartetos Concertantes

[op. 55, op. 56, op. 68]

Instrumental parts

More details

Author Pedro Ximénez Abrill Tirado
Editor José Manuel Izquierdo König
Series Quaderni Ruspoli – Musica
Nr. 1
Size 17×24, pp. XI-232
Year 2018
ISBN 9788870968910

Price 25,00 €

The discovery of these three string quartets by Pedro Ximénez Abrill Tirado could be described as a musicological miracle. Historical instrumental music from Latin America, written before the 20th century, is still largely unknown, since most of the music that has survived until our days comes from religious archives: sacred vocal music for the use of the Catholic church. Before national archives and libraries were fully devised, it was the Church one of the only institutions that protected — at least partially — its own music collections, thus shaping our appreciation of the musical past through its surviving sources. The instrumental music of the period — secular, orchestral and chamber pieces — is now mostly lost, deeply affecting our view of the musical past. It is as if no one in Latin America had written string quartets, or symphonies, or pianoconcertos, even if through other sources (like newspaper announcements) we know that was not the case.

[Critical Edition. Instrumental parts available]